Killer Year–The Class of 2007


I am out of things to say
September 24, 2007, 7:36 pm
Filed under: Dave White, Killer Year Members

Not really. My book comes out in the morning. And there’s not much else I can say about it.

I just turned in my edits on THE EVIL THAT MEN DO, the second Jackson Donne novel.

Writing the second novel was an interesting experience. It was like learning to write all over again. Duane Swierczynski always says each time you learn to write a novel, you have to learn how to write that novel. It’s an interesting theory, and one I now agree with.

Writing WHEN ONE MAN DIES was an exercise in flying blindly. I had no deadline, I had no concerns. I had characters and a slight plot idea. The idea for EVIL came to me halfway through WOMD, and I had time to let it percolate. This book I had to write quicker, I had a deadline to deal with, I knew there were going to be lots of revisions, some big ones too.

But I think I got it. Or at least I’m close now.

I just sent my agent the idea for Book 3.

The train keeps on rolling.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

It’s true, Dave. It’s not like you do it once and crack the code. I think every book requires its own battle plan. I’m on my fifth, but as Foreigner once said, it feels like the first time.

Comment by Swierczynski




Leave a Reply

