Killer Year–The Class of 2007


The Persona
August 24, 2007, 4:59 pm
Filed under: Dave White

I’ve been thinking about public image lately. Namely, my own.

J.A. Konrath has a post about it.

I don’t wanna have a public persona. I don’t want to be “on” all the time, anytime I’m at a signing. I don’t want to have to worry about being “Dave White.”

I just want to be.

So, I’ve made a decision. (Actually I probably made this decision along time ago, subconsciously, but now it’s a conscious one.)

I’m just going to be Dave White… warts and all.

If you read my blog, you’ll see I’ve made a ton of faux pas in front of authors. I’m pretty sure Harlan Coben has a restraining order against me. I made David Montgomery uncomfortable on an elevator.

But you’ll also see me, a complete goofball balancing a beer bottle on my head. You’ll see me smiling and telling jokes and talking.

And you know what? Sometimes I won’t want to give out business cards. Sometimes I won’t want to say any more about my book than its title and maybe a sentence.

And to me, that’s okay.

I’ll talk about my book if I want to. And I’ll listen to you about yours.

But what I’m not going to be is “in your face.” I’m not going to have a prepared spiel about my book. I’m not going to stop people in bookstores to talk about it.

But on September 25th, if you’re in NJ, you’ll probably see me taking photographs at the bookshelves.

Because that’s me.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I totally agree with you! I am not one of those authors that try to push my book on people. I’m very shy around people I don’t know well—and it takes me a while to get to know you.
http://www.michellekane.com, author of CONFESSIONS OF A CATHOLIC SCHOLLGIRl

Comment by michelle

Don’t worry. I’ll push it for you. I’m a total marketing whore. πŸ˜‰

Comment by scott neumyer

Being real is the new black. So I heard.

Good luck! I’d be taking pictures, too!

Comment by spyscribbler

Amen, brother!!!

Comment by JT Ellison

You may want to reconsider. I’ve met you, and it’s not pretty…

πŸ˜‰

Comment by Brett Battles

I’m not going to have a prepared spiel about my book.

A prepared spiel can seem boring to those who’ve heard it a few times, but it can also be good fall-back material. When you’re tired and not in the best of moods, you can do the spiel and an audience might not guess your real mood.

Comment by Gerald So

I agree about the just being you. It’s too much trouble to keep track of public you and private you. Still, I think a bit of circumspection is of value. Private is private, after all, and I think it should remain so.

There is certainly value in a set spiel on your book, however. Knowing how to speak succinctly about your work is really appreciated by the fellow stuck in the elevator with you, as it were. Just don’t let the spiel hamstring you.

Comment by Bill Cameron

I’m with you all the way. I wasn’t born to be a saleswoman. It makes me feel icky inside.

Comment by Jenna Glatzer

I like your style, Dave.

Comment by patry




Leave a Reply

