Killer Year–The Class of 2007


ThrillerFest, Adieu…
July 16, 2007, 12:21 pm
Filed under: Bill Cameron, Killer Year Members

I am in a blog writing frenzy right now. I have been chipping away at a post about the Cage Match with Shane and Jason, which I will post later, but I wanted to take a brief moment to mention ThrillerFest, because let’s face it, I’m sure no one else will. (Ahem!)

Simply put, the event was marvelous. I can’t say enough about the camaraderie and warmth I experienced from writers and readers alike throughout the weekend.

As a debut author, the chance to stand up in the Debut Authors Breakfast and talk about Lost Dog was exhiliarating and a little scary, but I felt so honored and humbled to be a part of it. I hear the ITW will be moving forward with continuing support for debut authors, and that thrills me to no end. I will always be thankful for the support I and my other debut friends received this year from ITW.

And while, yeah, I had the “ITW Author” header on my name tag, I felt like I came to the event even more as a reader and a fan. Such an opportunity to see in person so many great writers whom I admire, to experience their generosity and warmth. I chatted with everyone from the most established stars to the greenest of newbies, and every conversation was a joy.

There are so many names to name, but a couple standout that I want to mention.

Thank you to Lee Child for coming to the Cage Match and for the wonderful introduction at the Debut Authors Breakfast. And Alafair, it was marvelous to sit with you and just chat about writing and Portland — good luck on your tour! And Zoë and Andy, good drinking with you. I hope we can go shooting some time — I’m sure it would be a blast!

And JT, darling, so glad to finally see you in person. Here’s to many more gatherings…

There were many others, of course, new friends and old — the Killer Yearbies especially.

The only down note was that Anne couldn’t be there. But I hope we catch up soon!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What a blast!

I think this was one of my best convention times yet….

Check out the photos with Lee Child, James Patterson, Vince Flynn, Lisa Gardner, Heather Graham, and a bunch of others….

http://staceycochran.com/_wsn/page5.html

JT, I am indebted to you for life. Anything you ever need. Ever. You let me know.

Stacey

Comment by Stacey Cochran

Great pics, Stacey, and great round up, Bill! It was so good to finally lay eyes on you, kiddo!

Aw, Stacey, you’re much too kind. I’m thrilled that your weekend went so well! I think a cool million should suffice ; )

Comment by killeryear

A million what?

Comment by Bill Cameron




Leave a Reply

