Killer Year–The Class of 2007


drained…
May 3, 2007, 3:53 am
Filed under: Killer Year Members, Toni McGee Causey

I wanted to write you a great blog post today, something with depth and provoking thought and, you know, impressive. I mean, this is the week my book is out and you’d think I’d have all sorts of opinions about things, but apparently my brain cells leaked out my ears and the only two left behind are debating the merits of sleep vs. chocolate (chocolate is in the lead). There are about three billion things to do between stuff for the book and stuff for the construction business and stuff for the family and that doesn’t even include polishing book two and writing book three and I need to recharge, mentally.

What book did you read that just really revitalized you? Made you want to tear into writing again, gave you that boost, or, if you’re not a writer, just made you look at the world differently, changed your perspective, made you able to either appreciate something more or grasp something better. It doesn’t have to be your favorite book or author or what you necessarily think was the best written — just something that rocked you or gave you such a pleasure reading it, you set it down reluctantly and wish you could have that experience of reading it for the first time all over again?  My sad little brain cells are desperate, people, so chime in.

-toni

My new website.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The Zero by Jess Walter really got me going. It was so bad at times that I would read a paragraph, set the book down, and then go sit at my computer and type for a bit. Not that I was writing anything like what the masterful Mr. Walter was doing. Just something about the way he constructs a story and the way he uses language that just sets me alight.

Comment by Bill Cameron

If I need a recharge, I just pick up Marathon Man, Magic, or Control by William Goldman. He makes it seem so simple.

You have my sympathies, Toni. Unfortunately, it NEVER slows down…

Comment by Robert Gregory Browne

For me, it’s the kind of writing that I know I can never do: lyrical, haunting, literary stuff (instead of my own gritty, edgy, all-too-real work)

Mark Helprin’s A WINTER’S TALE is probably the book I’ve turned to most often, followed by Ray Bradbury’s DANDELION WINE or SOMETHING WICKED THIS WAY COMES.

I vote for the chocolate, sleep is highly over-rated…

Comment by CJ Lyons

A Winter’s Tale is gorgeous!

Comment by Bill Cameron

Bill, I’m going to have to get that one, and CJ, I’d read the last two, but not the first, so now I’m definitely ordering it. Rob, totally agree with you on Goldman. (Lie to me, though, and say it gets easier. Seriously.)

Comment by toni mcgee causey

I don’t have the gift with words to describe what a marvelous experience I had reading Jeff Lindsay’s two Dexter books, but I finished the first just salivating for the second. And I’m trying to be patient while waiting for number 3. Who would’ve thought a serial killer could be so likeable? I have to quote a couple of sentences because they struck a chord with me. “Weren’t we all crazy in our sleep? What was sleep, after all, but the process by which we dumped our insanity into a dark subconscious pit and came out on the other side ready to eat cereal instead of the neighbor’s children?” I love that! That I’m dumping my insanity into a pit at night certainly explains some of the wild, crazy dreams I sometimes have.

Comment by Barbie

Love the new website, Toni!

I just finished “How to Hepburn” by Karbo. It’s about an inspiring character, if there ever was one! A lot of lessons in that little book on embracing your own character that can be interpreted on how to create characters, too!

Comment by spyscribbler

Barbie, those sentences just convinced me to get the books. Wow, you picked great ones to show (and if they’re all that great, I’m going to weep with envy.) 😉

Spyscribbler, thank you. We had to change the site twice because the cover changed so radically from the original concept, and the original site design had been intended to complement that cover. Next time I do a site, it’ll be more for me as author instead of working around a book design. (This is one of those things I should have known and hadn’t really thought through.)

How to Hepburn… now that sounds very interesting. I’ll have to check it out, thanks!

Comment by toni mcgee causey




Leave a Reply

