Killer Year–The Class of 2007


LATFOB
April 21, 2007, 1:14 pm
Filed under: Killer Year Members, Robert Gregory Browne

The Los Angeles Times Festival of Books is coming up next weekend. I’ll be attending this event for the very first time and, according to my good friend and Killer Year classmate, Brett Battles, it is not to be missed.

Well, not only will I not be missing it, I’ll be signing at three different booths on Saturday, April 28th, and I’m feeling a little anxious about the day. Since the festival is massive– taking place on the University of California at Los Angeles campus — will I be able to get where I need to go quickly and without getting lost?

I think I’ll manage. For those of you who are like me and have never attended before, another friend, Naomi Hirahara, has posts over at Murderati telling newbies what they’re in for. And I have to say it sounds fantastic.

I mean, imagine being surrounded by thousands of people who share a love of books. I’m really looking forward to it.

I’m also looking forward to the pre-festival signing party at the The Mystery Bookstore in Westwood, California on Friday night. Linda Brown and Bobby McCue, the proprietors, were kind enough to invite me to celebrate with them, and I’ll be attending along with a bunch of great writers. Sounds like it’ll be a blast.

I’ve long said that one of the best benefits of becoming a published author is being able to hang out with other authors and readers — all those people who love what you love. Writing is basically a lonely pursuit and writers, by and large, are loners.

But not this coming weekend, folks. Not this coming weekend…

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You’ll love it, Rob. Attending this event was one of my favorite things about living in LA. I miss it (and the weather) tremendously.

Comment by Rob

ARGH! I’m so jealous…you guys are going to have the best time. Don’t go wearing any Three Amigos t-shirts without me!

Comment by Tasha Alexander

Can’t beat the weather, that’s for sure, Rob. And Tasha, Brett and I wouldn’t dream of wearing those t-shirts without you…

Comment by killeryear




Leave a Reply

