Killer Year–The Class of 2007


I think in Story
March 30, 2007, 10:08 am
Filed under: Brett Battles, Killer Year Founders, Killer Year Members

I think in Story. All the time. Day, night. Waking, sleeping.

I think in Story.

Doesn’t matter where I am or what’s going on, it’s the way my brain works. I can’t turn it off.

Truthfully, I don’t want to.

Scenes, characters, plotlines, motivation, story. They run through my mind unhindered. They bring order to the chaos of my thoughts. They inform the decisions and choices I make.

Whether I’m in a grocery story, walking down the street or sitting at my desk at work, I think in Story.

When I see a waitress at a restaurant, tired, but smiling, I wonder what she is thinking. I could ask her, I guess. But I won’t. I don’t need to. My mind fills in the gaps.

When I’m at a concert, the music intensifies the process, becoming a soundtrack to my thoughts. The scenes are sometimes so intense it’s as if I am really there. If there is snow in the scene, I can feel the cold. If tension fills the air, I can feel the electricity prickling at my skin. But often it is stories of sadness or contentment or melancholy that the music evokes, and these emotions wash over me, submerging me and carrying me away if only for a few moments.

When I’m at work and a problem arises, I see the back story, I see the motivations of all the players, and I see the through line to the climax. From this I often know which path we should take. In this I am the office problem solvers. But if they only knew. It’s not problem solving. It’s story.

It’s the way I’ve always been. It’s the way I will always be.

I think in Story.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Which is why your books and stories are so damn good.
Happy day before your birthday…

Comment by JT Ellison

Yes. Just. . . yes.

Comment by Bill Cameron

I thought I was the only person who lived in Storyland. I got teased for that growing up.

Comment by cinemagypsy




Leave a Reply

