Killer Year–The Class of 2007


Jump Start
February 16, 2007, 12:10 pm
Filed under: Killer Year Members, Marc Lecard

There they go, the first three out of the plane: Sandra, Sean, Marcus. We wish them luck. It’s a long way down.

The domes of their parachutes gleam in the sun.

No telling where they’ll land, either–stuck up in a tree, buried in six feet of cow manure, or dropping into a stadium filled with cheering people.

It sure is a long way down.

Rob and Patry are up next. They’re pulling on their ‘chutes now. Rob looks pretty serious, but calm. He’s out of there. Patry gives me a thumbs-up, grins, jumps.

A fuck of a long way down.

Gregg, sitting next to me, is grinning from ear to ear; why is he so goddamn cheerful ? Oh well, he’s done this before.

There he goes.

I look around; smiles and nods from the folks behind me.

I look back toward the hatch; nada. There’s no one in front of me.

I’m up next.

Fuck.

I sure hope this chute works. It ought to: I packed it myself.

Of course, that means I have no one else to blame if I pull the cord and bedsheets and pillow cases come flying out. Old snotrags and dirty laundry.

The wind whipping in the open hatch is numbing my fingers.

My turn.

Here I go.

Wait a minute–which cord do I pull again?

Marc Lecard
VINNIE’S HEAD St. Martin’s Minotaur March 2007
www.marclecard.com
www.killeryear.com

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Pull the right one.
Marc, it’s going to be fantastic!!!
Great imagery in this!

Comment by JT Ellison

Man, that really is the feeling, isn’t it? I’ll bet you do great, though. 😉

Comment by toni mcgee causey

I wasn’t the one smiling and giving the thumb’s up. I was whimpering and clinging to the door till one of you behind me was forced to give a gentle shove. But so far the ride has been amazing–and I’m not ready to fall to earth yet.

Come on out, Marc! The weather’s fine!

Comment by patry




Leave a Reply

