Killer Year–The Class of 2007


T minus 4
January 5, 2007, 11:56 am
Filed under: Killer Year Members, Marcus Sakey

So my novel, THE BLADE ITSELF, comes out on Tuesday. And I don’t mean to be self-aggrandizing, but it’s my first book, so I thought today I’d just throw a quick post to share how it feels.

In a word? Weird.

I signed my deal in October of 2005. That’s roughly 15 months of anticipation. My mom will tell you I used to go spastic over Christmas when I was a kid, and the longest I ever had to wait for that was 12 months. Another three and my head would have exploded.

And yet now the long-imagined hour is finally approaching. And you know what’s funny? The closer to real it gets, the more surreal it seems.

Like most of us, I always saw bookstores as holy ground. I spent my school days tuning out teachers so I could surreptitiously devour science fiction novels. The first time I went to watch an author read, I half expected he would have a Charlton Heston halo. These myths are strong in me, and the idea that something I wrote, one keystroke at a time, could become a physical book, something that other people can buy and read and hopefully enjoy, well, it’s hard to wrap my head around.

And then there’s all the stuff that goes with it. Press and reviews, for instance. I’ve been very fortunate on that front — my publicists kick ass, and they managed to get the book in front of a lot of people.

But let me tell you, it feels mightily odd to open the New York Times and see a picture of me looking back at me. Wonderful, of course. But odd.

Why? I think because in truth, I still don’t really get  that this thing I wrote is out there. That it is about to be released into the world, where it’s going to have to live on its own. No more corrections, no more twiddling, no more trying to crank the tension another notch. To quote Swingers, It’s all grows-ed up.

I don’t have children. But I bet I feel a lot like a parent watching their kid board the school bus for the first time. Pride and trepidation and fear and hope and a sense of mortality and a sweet surging joy, all at once.

It’s a heady cocktail. But I feel so fortunate to be able to drink of it.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thank you for letting us share the ride, Marcus. I know your baby will grow up to be a fine upstanding citizen, probably a high level government worker who will shape the course of humanity. Or cure cancer. Or win the Nobel for bringing world peace.

Whereas my child will simply get arrested for crack possession. C’est la vie, oui?

Comment by JT Ellison

My child is a klepto. And a drunk. Maybe your child will buy him a drink sometime, Marcus. But don’t leave anything out unattended.

Thanks for sharing your feelings. They sound very familiar! 😀

Comment by Bill Cameron

I raise a glass with you, Marcus. Enjoy the ride. I can’t wait to read The Blade Itself.

Comment by Louise Ure

This IS your baby, Marcus, and enjoy every moment! Great piece in the Times, BTW, was thrilled when I opened my paper yesterday and saw it. Can’t wait to read the book!

Comment by Karen Olson

Thanks, guys! Truly appreciated.

Comment by Marcus Sakey

Bumper sticker on Sakey’s car:

My child is on the NY Times Bestseller List.

Comment by guyot

Being only a month away myself, I know that surreal feeling, Marcus. Very strange.

Congratulations on all the great press. I’ll be thinking about you on Tuesday.

Comment by Robert Gregory Browne

Congratulations, Marcus!

And let me also add a hearty cheer for Sean Chercover, who also debuts next week!

Comment by Philip Hawley

Congrats, Marcus…

At least youd idn’t get lost in your own museum… (Oh, I hope someone gets that reference)

Comment by Dave White

Enjoy! You only get one debut novel.

BTW, I had to wait nearly 22 months. I sold in March of 2004 but my book didn’t hit the shelves until 12/27/05. Talk about IMPATIENT!!!

Comment by Allison Brennan

Being the only non-published writer, nor soon to be one, to chime in, let me say I’m already your biggest fan. No hobbling needed.

Have a great debut, and I plan on picking up the book this week.

Comment by Ron Phillips

um… buoni, realmente buoni luogo e molto utile;)

Comment by campioni




Leave a Reply

