Killer Year–The Class of 2007


Living and a little news…
November 20, 2006, 12:03 pm
Filed under: Brett Battles, Killer Year Founders, Killer Year Members

I received an interesting piece of mail last week. On first pass, maybe it was something most people would have thrown away. I almost did. It was obviously junk mail. This time from my “good friends” at AT&T. But it was the subject of the mail that caught my attention. Written in bold letters across the outside were the words:

READY FOR YOUR UPCOMING MOVE?

The answer to that question is no. Mainly because I didn’t realize I was moving.

But it did get me thinking…

What did AT&T know that I didn’t know?
Had my life been transferred somewhere else but someone forgot to tell me?
Couldn’t be my job. My job isn’t going anywhere.
But am I?

And the more I thought about it, the more I realized the truth is, I am.

In fact, we all are. It’s a little corny to say “life is a journey,” but it’s also true. Life is a journey. It’s a learning process from Day First to Day Last. It’s up to us whether we choose to participate or don’t.

If we buy in, we move through a life full of questions and discoveries and heartaches and joys and friendships and family and disappointments and successes. Everyday is the opportunity to learn something new. To learn about ourselves and others – both the good and the bad. Learn about the world around us.

And ultimately, it is the chance to grow.

If we opt out, we become members of the living dead. We roam the earth perpetually pissed off, closed to new ideas, to understanding others. We think we know everything there is to know. We think everyone around us is stupid.

I don’t want to be the living dead. I’ve never wanted to be the living dead. I enjoy learning too much. I enjoy hearing other people’s ideas. I enjoy knowing I’m not the smartest person in the room.

What does this have to do with writing or stories or the business?

Everything…

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT – NEWS ITEMS FROM LAST WEEK

Killer Year Anthology is announced!

Killer Year Friend Phil Hawley makes Germany sale of his upcoming release STIGMA.

And my novel, THE CLEANER, will be in hardcover and the release day has been moved up to June 26, 2007.

Brett Battles
THE CLEANER
Arriving June 26, 2007 from Delacorte

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Brett: Lovely.

Comment by Tasha Alexander

Totally agree, life is a journey… a journey from HELL! Okay, so I overexaggerate, :). No, really, that’s very true and I think that it’s helpful to look at life this way because it gets you through those tough times and allows you to fully enjoy the non-tough times.

Great post!

Comment by mai wen

Journey schmourney. Life is a wave. A never ending web and flow.

No, wait. Life is a flower. It blossoms and it dies.

No, wait. Life is…

Okay, okay. It’s a journey. A long, torturous, wonderful, lovely, heartbreaking, thrilling, momentous, fascinating journey.

When you’re right, you’re right.

And you’re right.

Comment by Rob Gregory Browne

And, yes, I meant WEB and flow.

Comment by Rob Gregory Browne

Great news for Phil. His book is superb! (I’m about halfway through it!)

Comment by Bill Cameron

Tasha: Brett IS lovely, isn’t he?

(Did I say that out loud?)

Comment by Robert Gregory Browne

We roam the earth perpetually pissed off, closed to new ideas, to understanding others. We think we know everything there is to know. We think everyone around us is stupid.

I’ve known too many people like this. They’re depressing. They’re time suckers. They suck every bit of life out of you, the room, their friends.
Let’s smack each of them over the head with a book.

Comment by JT Ellison




Leave a Reply

