Killer Year–The Class of 2007


An All-Consuming World
November 13, 2006, 8:44 am
Filed under: JT Ellison, Killer Year Founders

(The Lost Blog Entry)

To say Killer Year can be time consuming is the understatement of the century. None of us knew just how big Killer Year was going to get when we started, and that’s a good thing. But a large part of every day is consumed by Killer Year activities, and all the members have been busting butt to make this happen.

I, on the other hand, have managed to lose my mind.

Take Saturday, for instance. I got up, went to the post office to mail the KY postcards to Bouchercon, ran to the bank, all the normal Saturday morning errands. Then I stopped by Starbucks for a nice cup of tea, planning to go home, settle in and write all morning until the UT game came on. It was 10:00 a.m. The day stretched before me with unlimited opportunity to make some literary magic.

Instead, I got home, had to touch base with our communications director, Toni Causey, had to send an email about the press releases that went out Monday, answered several mails about strategic stuff for this week, found a typo in the press release… well, you get the idea. At 2:00 p.m., I stopped to have a quick telecon with a co-founder – both an update on Monday’s antics and a quick sanity break.

That’s when I discovered my cup of tea. Cold, neglected, sitting by my chair where I’d apparently set it when I settled in to write, which obviously hadn’t happened. I’d forgotten all about my little restorative.

I know, I know, we’ve all done it. After I stopped laughing at my early onset idiocy, I put the cup in the microwave.

Then hubby came home fired up about a ladder he was buying, and needed to lay some grass seed before the thunderstorm/tornadoes hit, plus I needed to finish a few things. More time passed, no writing done.

Finally, at 4:00, I gave in and sat down to watch the UT game. Bear in mind I had yet to do anything creative for the entire day, despite a major deadline (relatively self imposed, but still) for Monday.

We were a safety and a lovely fake that resulted in a touchdown into the game when I realized I’d left the tea in the damn microwave. Two hours before.

Bought at 10 a.m. Drank at 4:30 p.m. Welcome to my world.

The frightening thing is, this is my life now. I’ve gone from being a self-employed writer trying to get published to a published author with a surprise publicity company to help run. I’ve got two books to write before next November, countless other obligations, and to many items to keep track of.

You know what? I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Cold tea or not.

Being a debut author is a full time job. Not only do you need to carve out time to write, plan your marketing and publicity, keep abreast of the industry through other writers’ blogs, list serves, publishing journals and business news, maintain your own blog and website, you have to find time to keep your sanity. This is a business, and if you aren’t prepared for the massive changes in your life, you need to reassess your plan.

Now don’t worry about me. I’ll find my mind somewhere along the way. And now that I shared my tale of woe, I think I’ll go watch the rest of the football game.

At least I wrote something, right?

JT Ellison

ALL THE PRETTY GIRLS

November 2007, Mira Book

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Baby, I’m just glad I’m not the only one with cold tea!

Comment by Tasha Alexander




Leave a Reply

